Five Things

Here are five things to put on your Cyclone radar this weeK:

womensgolf1) The Cyclone women’s golf team has made history by advancing to the NCAA championship for the first time in school history. In fact, it marks the first time a division I team from the state of Iowa has made it to the big show since the tournament’s new format was put in place in 1993. The 2014 NCAA Championship will be held at the Tulsa Country Club in Tulsa, Oklahoma, on May 20-23.

Christie Martens is now in her 10th season as the Cyclones’ head coach, and she’s grown the program leaps and bounds during her tenure. Finishing in the top 8 at a regional and becoming one of the 24 teams to vie for the NCAA championship was the next step for the team, which is perennially ranked in the nation’s top 25. Congratulations, Cyclones!

2) A VEISHEA task force open forum specifically for alumni will conclude the spring “VEISHEA open forum season,” if you will: It’s tomorrow, actually. The public is invited to the event at the ISU Alumni Center’s Reiman Ballroom from 6:30-8:30 p.m. It will be facilitated by Dwayne Vande Krol, our former board of directors chair and current ISU Alumni Association rep on the task force. If you can’t make it to the open forum, be sure to watch it online. And if you have feedback to share, hey — there’s a Web page for that.

3) It’s officially “summer” now at ISU. More than 4,000 people joined the alumni family at graduation over the weekend, and this May 1 blog post by an alum proves why they are in good company.

4) Getting tired of the nonstop Internet chatter about Fred Hoiberg possibly taking a job in the NBA? Well, Des Moines Register sportswriter Randy Peterson is, too. But having a coach who is a hot commodity is a good problem to have, so we’re all going to have to smile through it for many years (uhhhhh…we hope!) to come. In other men’s basketball news, Hoiberg over the weekend signed a 7-1 star prep talent from Greece. The kicker? His name is Giorgos Tsalmpouris. So yes, Cyclone Nation: Good luck not getting confused with your Georges and your Giorgos next season. Maybe start practicing now.

5) In other sports-related news, the NFL Draft was held this weekend. The New York Jets used their fifth-round pick to snatch up Cyclone inside linebacker Jeremiah George, who led the Big 12 in tackles last season but was knocked by many for being undersized at 5-11, 234.

“I’ve heard it my entire life,” George told the New Jersey Star-Ledger following his draft selection. “But it doesn’t bother me at all. I know what I’m capable of. I know the skill sets that I have. I know my strengths. I know my weaknesses. My weaknesses also turn into my strengths, because if I know I’m not capable of going against this guy because he’s 115 more than me, then I’ll just use something else to counter that. Honestly, it’s never been an issue in my eyes. I play the game of football with my heart, not my height.”

Leave a Reply

